Criminal antics in Scotland and France – Perfect Kill Review

As some of you may be aware, I’m no stranger to Helen Fields’s work – or the ‘Perfect’ series. I’ve read all of the previous book in this series, and I’ve even reviewed Perfect Crime and Perfect Silence as well as having had the opportunity to host a guest post from Helen herself (and I meet her once too).

So I was super excited to find out that Helen had released a sixth, and latest, book in the ‘Perfect’ series, Perfect Kill. And you can bet that I got my butt on the blog tour for this.

Yes, as you can see from the blog tour below, I’m one day out. I should have put this up yesterday, but I’ve been extremely ill for the last 2 weeks and I’m only just recovering. So…better late then never. Anyway, on to the review itself!

Ok so Perfect Kill is a return to the police procedural of the previous books and we are back with DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach once again. Which is great because both are stellar characters.

I was quite eager to get back to this world and these characters because the author weaved a very good web of plot twists and multiple storylines. There were also a few cliff-hangers that I was curious to see how they would work out.

The story in Perfect Kill is split between Scotland and France – Paris to be exact – yass! And honestly, the whole thing reads like a movie – and that’s not an insult. It was fast paced and it was so well written that it was like a movie in my head.

I appreciated the humour dotted amongst the action and gore too.

Yes, Perfect Kill is part of a series and yes you’ll get the most out of it if you’ve read the other books in the series, but it can work as a standalone if you want to read it as such.

Honestly though, this series is going from strength to strength with excellent writing, great pacing and engaging characters.

Ok, yes, the ending was a little…off for me, but it’s a small aspect of the book as a whole.

So if you’re after a fast paced, gruesome, character driven police procedural, the ‘Perfect’ series, and Perfect Kill are probably for you!

***

Perfect Kill, Helen Fields

Alone, trapped in the darkness and with no way out, Bart Campbell knows that his chances of being found alive are slim.

Drugged and kidnapped, the realisation soon dawns that he’s been locked inside a shipping container far from his Edinburgh home. But what Bart doesn’t yet know is that he’s now heading for France where his unspeakable fate is already sealed…

DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach are working on separate cases that soon collide as it becomes clear that the men and women being shipped to France are being traded for women trafficked into Scotland.

With so many lives at stake, they face an impossible task – but there’s no option of failure when Bart and so many others will soon be dead…

Get ready for a rollercoaster ride like no other, with the next gripping thriller from the number one bestselling crime author, Helen Fields. The perfect read for fans of M. J. Arlidge and Karin Slaughter.

You can buy Perfect Kill here with FREE worldwide delivery!

***

Do you like what I do? If so, there are various ways that you can help support me if you want to. A GREAT way is by using my affiliate link for Book Depository to do you book shopping! They offer FREE WORLDWIDE delivery and have over 19 million books to choose from. And it doesn’t cost you anything extra! Just shop as normal using my link! We both win!

Or you could donate safely & securely via my PayPal.Me link by clicking here. I’d be incredibly grateful for any amount that you might donate – even the cost of a cup of tea!

But there are other ways that you can support me if you’d like. Even reading my reviews helps! So THANK YOU for reading!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s