How far would you go for family? – Fatal Review

fatal book cover

Fatal is another one of those books from a genre I don’t usually read, but this is the year for broadening my horizons, and I’m glad I did because Fatal was really enjoyable!

Fatal is the second book to feature characters Franny and Alfie – I didn’t know that going in and it didn’t really matter in the end! Fatal isn’t the kind of book that doesn’t make sense if you’ve not read previous works from this author. Which is great (and good fortune for me!)

Whilst I didn’t need to have read the previous book to understand and enjoy the story, I did find the similarity in character names (like Albie and Alfie) confusing at times. There are quite a few characters to keep track of and the pace is really quite quick, so there were times where I felt I should have read Toxic before Fatal.

“The weight and severity was so great that Don’s mouth immediately flooded with blood while his front teeth were pounded out of his gums.”

The plot of the book is a high-octane chase between out protagonists and the violent Russo brothers. To make sure we know just how brutal the Russo brothers are, Fatal opens with a scene of violence and rape brought on by the Russo brothers.

fatal book cover

Our main protagonist, Cabhan, find himself as an enemy of the Russo brothers after a freak accident, and what follows is an intense cat and mouse game to save not only himself, but his daughter.

Whist I’m speaking of characters let me talk about Alice Rose. Alice Rose is the daughter that Cabhan is trying to protect and quite frankly, she is a total idiot who I was actively hoping would die. She was a completely frustrating character and genuinely unbelievable. Seriously, there’s no way there’s anyone who would either a) behave the way she does, and b) do a 180 the way she does. She went from being super innocent and naïve to a fault and a lack of believability who makes frustrating choices, to a total badass who doesn’t really care for her own well-being.

“Learn to hide your emotions, learn to cut yourself off from pain and that way you’ll survive.”

That’s not character growth. It an unbelievable character arc and it really pissed me off. Her character was a major problem with this book and a huge downside.

However, it wasn’t just Alice Rose who made frustrating choices. Occasionally I found some of the other characters (who should know better) making choices that make me go “WHY?! WHY would you do that?”.

fatal cover jumper

However, for the most part, the characters were enjoyable and you do end up feeling for some of them, and even rooting for some (even if it’s in the wrong way, like I was rooting for the Russo brothers to get Alice Rose!)

The pace in Fatal is relentless, there’s always something going on, which is great. The writing is great and it’s an easy read. Not in subject matter of course, this book goes to some dark places, but the writing and the pace make for a quick and easy read.

I’d definitely read this author again, but I wouldn’t race out to the shelves on publication day to buy her next book BUT that’s because Fatal isn’t my usual, or favourite, genre. I highly recommend it for people who like crime-themed thrillers!

“How could you think going to see Nico in prison would do anything apart from give him a boner? he plays games with people’s lives. you know that. He’s a psycho and he’s got those two crazy brothers swimming around like sharks looking for blood.”

***

Thanks to Avon for partnering with me and for providing and advanced copy for review.

fatal by jacqui rose cover

Dying is easy. It’s living that’s hard…

‘Gritty and gripping’ Kimberley Chambers

An eye for an eye.
Cabhan Morton wants to leave the Russo crime family for good and live in peace with his daughter, Alice Rose. But the Russos won’t let him walk away without a fight.

A tooth for a tooth.
Franny Doyle would do anything for Cabhan and Alice, but helping them escape the vindictive Russo brothers won’t be easy. The only place they’ll be safe is back in Essex with Alfie Jennings.

A daughter for a daughter…
Franny knows she won’t be welcomed by Alfie with open arms – but she doesn’t have a choice. The Russos are out for blood and they won’t stop until Alice is dead…

The heart-racing new thriller perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers and Martina Cole.

fatal blog tour banner

***

Do you want to find out if love is Fatal for you? You can buy it here with FREE worldwide delivery!

[PLEASE NOTE]: I was not paid or sponsored to write this review. I did receive a copy in exchange for a review, but this did not have any effect on my review – all the opinions are honest and my own.

***

Would you like to help keep my website going? If you want to, you can donate safely and securely via my PayPal.Me link by clicking here. Any amount, even if it’s the cost of a cup of tea, really helps and I’m incredibly grateful for any donations that you may wish to gift me. 

Alternatively, you can support me in other ways if you’d like. Even reading my reviews helps! So THANK YOU for reading!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: