Can you find her? – The Missing Wife Review

The missing wife cover

The Missing Wife by Sam Carrington is the kind of book where you know exactly what kind of book you’re about to read based on just the blurb. This Missing Wife is a psychological thriller with plenty of twists to keep you turning the pages.

During a surprise fortieth birthday, Louisa’s life completely changes. When the wife of her ex disappears after the surprise party she didn’t want (and doesn’t exactly remember), Louisa must try to find her, but can she trust those around her?

The cover of The Missing Wife says that it’s rated 5 stars by real readers. I’m a real reader…what did I think?

Well, I liked and disliked it at the same time.

Whilst I did enjoy The Missing Wife, I felt that it kinda fell short on a few promises that it made. I had two issues that stopped this from being a 5 star read for me, and these were Louisa herself and the pacing.

Louisa as a character kinda irked me a fair bit. I just couldn’t relate to her, or even lend some believability to her character. I know I’m not a mum, but I know plenty of them and Louisa’s actions as a new mum just didn’t seem believable to me.

The missing wife cover

On top of this she didn’t really do too much, she spent too much time thinking and it got a little irritating at times. And there’s a lot of whining and moaning from Louisa. I do mean a lot. To the point where it affected the pacing, which is the second part of what stopped The Missing Wife from being 5 stars.

The overall pacing is inconsistent – some parts were great, exactly what I’d expect – and other parts were achingly slow and the ending went by far too fast. It’s a shame because the writing has a fluid style to it that makes it really easy to read, and I have to commend the author for that.

The story was enjoyable and had all the usual suspects for a good thriller; lies, repercussions, deceit, guilt and secrets but it lacked a high point and a low point and had a rushed ending which seemed a little out of character.  

 However The Missing Wife is an enjoyable read. I never wanted to DNF it, and I did keep the pages turning despite some issues.

It’s not a perfect thriller, but it is enjoyable. There are similar stories out there, but if you’re not a sole reader of the genre you’ll enjoy it.

***

A dark and compelling new thriller from the bestselling author of SAVING SOPHIE. Perfect for fans of Little Darlings and How to Get Away with Murder.

Imagine turning up to your own party, and recognising no one. Your best friend has just created your worst nightmare.

the missing wife

Louisa is an exhausted, sleep-deprived new mother and, approaching her fortieth birthday, the very last thing she wants to do is celebrate.

But when her best friend Tiff organises a surprise party, inviting the entire list of Lou’s Facebook friends, she’s faced with a new source of anxiety altogether: a room full of old college classmates who she hasn’t spoken to in twenty years.

And one person in particular she never expected to see again is there – her ex-boyfriend from college, the handsome and charismatic Oliver Dunmore. When Oliver’s wife Melissa goes missing after the party, everyone remembers what happened that night differently. It could be the alcohol, but it seems more than one person has something to hide.

Louisa is determined to find the truth about what happened to Melissa. But just how far does she need to look…?

One simple Facebook invitation unfolds into something both tragic and monstrous; a story of obsessive love, breath-taking deception and masterful manipulation.

***

Do you want to see if you can find The Missing WifeYou can buy it here with FREE worldwide delivery.

[PLEASE NOTE]: I was not paid or sponsored to write this review – all the opinions are honest and my own.

***

Would you like to help keep my website going? If you want to, you can donate safely and securely via my PayPal.Me link by clicking here. Any amount, even if it’s the cost of a cup of tea, really helps and I’m incredibly grateful for any donations that you may wish to gift to me.

Alternatively, you can support me in other ways if you’d like. Even reading my reviews helps! So THANK YOU for reading!

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: