Will your past haunt you?Truth or Die Review

Truth or die cover

Some of you may know that I had a chat with Katerina Diamond way back in 2017 – click here if you wanna check that out. But I’m here today to talk about her latest novel, Truth or Die.

Truth or Die kicks off with the discovery of the butchered body of a professor at Exeter University. It’s the first in a string of murders that put everyone on edge. But who would target a seemingly innocent man, and why? Enter DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles to investigate before the body count gets too high.

Truth or Die is all about secrets and darkness, even the cover has a permanent-sticker saying that it’s ‘not for the faint-hearted’ –but did it live up to its claim?

Short answer yes! Long answer, yes…but…

Let me explain. First, the ‘yes’.
For once, the permanent sticker on the cover (by the way, I really dislike these – how about you?) was actually right. Whilst I doubt there will ever be a book grotesque enough for me I do have to admit that for most people, the gore in Truth or Die is probably quota-reaching. There weren’t too many of them, but they were quite intense. For those who don’t like gory scenes, don’t worry –they aren’t there just for the sake of it. They are quite vital to the inner understandings of some of the characters.

No on to the ‘yes…but…’.
I’m not sure that the gore makes up for the shortfalls of the novel. Truth or Die is part of a series, and I haven’t read all of the prior books, and I do feel like that affected my enjoyment of it. I didn’t feel particularly lost with the characters, but there was quite a lot of backstory references to events that have clearly happened in previous books and I got a little confused and lost at times.

Truth or die chess

The other thing that bothered me was the amount of focus on the relationship between Grey and Miles. I don’t know if this was so heavy in Truth or Die because it’s been a long time coming in the series, or if it’s new for this particular book, but regardless: I. Don’t. Care. About. Romance. In. my. Thrillers/Crime novels.

That’s not what I’m reading this genre for! Now granted, that’s just my opinion and others may like it – especially as it may break up some of the more intense scenes. But it’s just not for me.

However, the plot was quite good and it kept me turning page after page – when all is said and done, Truth or Die is a pretty good crime novel that explores the dark and evil that can be part of human nature. The ultimate bad-guy killer reveal wasn’t anything special to me – but I’ve got a habit of figuring things out quite quickly.

Truth or Die was a mixed bag for me, but I would recommend it to crime-fiction lovers.

***

Let the games begin…

When Professor Hugh Norris is found brutally murdered at Exeter university, DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles turn to the students for answers. Who would target a seemingly innocent man – and why? Someone knows more than they’re letting on – and they’re playing a very sinister game.

A game so dark, it will shake the university to its core…

As another professor is found butchered and the death toll begins to rise, the police have to examine their own pasts to uncover the person behind the killings – before it’s too late.

But are they brave enough to face up to the truth?

The Sunday Times bestseller is back in a twisty new novel, perfect for fans of M.J. Arlidge and Angela Marsons.

***

Do you want to experience Truth or Die for yourself? You can buy it here with FREE worldwide delivery!

[PLEASE NOTE]: I was not paid or sponsored to write this review – all the opinions are honest and my own.

***

Would you like to help keep my website going? If you want to, you can donate safely and securely via my PayPal.Me link by clicking here. Any amount, even if it’s the cost of a cup of tea, really helps and I’m incredibly grateful for any donations that you may wish to gift to me.

Alternatively, you can support me in other ways if you’d like. Even reading my reviews helps! So THANK YOU for reading!

5 thoughts on “Will your past haunt you?Truth or Die Review

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: